Lessons from my Grandma

My Grandma died yesterday morning. I have many good memories of her, from playing with a foam ball and rackets, to doing crosswords. But there are also a few valuable lessons I learned from her along the way. Here are three of them.

The first is don’t hate. You may not like someone’s opinions or even choose not to associate with them for whatever reason, but don’t -hate- them. All her life, my grandma never hated anyone. Disliked? Yes. Hated? No.

The second is be sentimental. This is something I learned about her today. Keep memories you’ve acquired. My Grandma kept all of her cards in her dresser, and the stuff I gave her–as well as my brother’s Eagle Scout announcement–were kept in her night stand, right next to her bed.

The final one is to enjoy life. No, I don’t mean party. I mean make the best of your situation. My Grandma, though she stayed in h room in the nursing home for most of the time she was there, engaged with her roommate, did crossword puzzle with her, and even had inside jokes with her! And it paid off for her as well: in her dying days, my grandma’s roommate held her hand.

My wish for those reading this is: remember these three lessons. They just might brighten your life. And for those of you who read this, thank you. May you have a good life.

1 thought on “Lessons from my Grandma

  1. Pingback: Coping With The Death Of A Loved One |

Leave a comment